My story

Host: Undoolya Station
Written by Nikita Hayes

My name is Nikita Hayes, I’m 22 years old. I grew up on my families cattle Station called Undoolya, we are located east of Alice springs in the NT. We run 5,000 head of Poll Hereford cattle on 144,400 hectares.

The owners of the station are Jim and Gail Hayes, and the manager is Ben Hayes. We have 3 full time people on the property including myself bore running and Nicole Hayes (mum) bookkeepng. We all help each other and in the mustering season we have up to 8 contractors helping.

Just a quick look through my life so far, nothing much has happened but I plan to make so many things happen and to live my life to the fullest that I can.

I grew up on Undoolya, from going on bore runs with dad to looking after my own little paddy calves, riding horses and motorbikes. When I was old enough to go to school I hated it, I was never much of an in-class learner but more the outdoors learner. I could be shown something once and get the hang of it straight away.

In year 8 I went off to Adelaide for boarding school. Boarding school was probably one of the funnest and best times of my life so far, I made so many friends and yeah my parents may have thought they were the bad influence, but I think they have finally realized it was me..!

Sneaking out of the boarding house to go to a party, sneaking on to the oval or into the ag farm, trying to hide and run away when you don’t want to go back from a weekend out of the boarding house… It was all a bit of fun. I left boarding school in year 11, then moved back to Alice springs. I then left school in the first week of year 12 (school wasn’t for me).

When I left school dad had told me I wasn’t allowed back to the station unless I had a TAFE course or a Diploma, so I chose beauty therapy (because you can get a job in that all around the world). I finished my diploma through correspondence in Perth but it just wasn’t for me either, I didn’t like how it was very repetitive, and indoors. I then left that job to go home. I had finally found the job that I not only loved, but wanted to be apart of for my whole life. I have always wanted to take on the family property and keep the Hayes family and their traditions alive.

Currently I live just out of Tamworth and moving has been such a great opportunity, I have met so many amazing people and had the chance to be apart of an awesome event called Herd Of Hope.

I have always wanted to own a Poll Hereford stud and hopefully this will lead me into the right direction. I have been drenching cattle, I’ve done a C section on a now cow, and I have done eye needles and loved it.

Once I leave Tamworth im not sure what I’ll do yet? Maybe go home, or go contracting mustering?

You can keep up with Niki’s adventures on Instagram through her account @nikihayes124